28 leaders selected for 2018 Journey Fellowship for New Professionals in Youth Work

Twenty-eight early-career professionals from youth serving organizations from across Indiana have been selected for the 2018 Journey Fellowship for New Professionals.  In response to a growing need to grow the pool of talented new professionals in the field of youth work, this Journey Fellowship was created in 2010 and funded by the Lilly Endowment Inc.

The selected Journey Fellows for New Professionals will embark on an expedition to develop themselves and their careers in youth development.  This unique opportunity is meant to support emerging leaders in their quest to get grounded, get connected and get going; making their mark in the field of youth development and making a difference in young people’s lives throughout Indiana.

“This Fellowship is about keeping these young youth workers in the field of youth development and helping them become the newest and best leaders in the field to improve services and programs for young people.”  said Tom Plake, Journey Leader.

Each of the twenty-eight participants in the Journey Fellowship for New Professionals will attend a series of residential retreats designed to create new ways of thinking about and practicing youth work within existing systems and youth programs. Fellows are awarded career advancement scholarships, and will be supported to make a difference within their local organizations or communities.


“We know that youth workers play a vital role in the lives of young people.  It has been documented in dozens of ways that youth who enjoy positive relationship with adults over time do better in life,” explains Janet Wakefield, Journey Leader. “We also know that many people enter the profession because they ‘want to make a difference’ and they enjoy building positive relationships with young people.  The Journey Fellowship for New Professionals provides Indiana’s youth workers greater opportunities to strengthen themselves as leaders and invest in their careers serving the young people of Indiana.”



  2018 New Pro Fellows!


The Journey is pleased and honored to announce the 28 Indiana emerging leaders in the field of youth development who have been nominated and selected to be the ninth class of

The Journey Fellowship for New Professionals.



Jarrid Hornsby

Program Coordinator, Youth Encouragement Services



Melissa Hunsberger

Care Coordinator, Stepping Stones, Centerstone

Victoria Nelson

Senior Behavioral Health Technician, Stepping Stones, Centerstone

Zachary Sloffer

Arts Coordinator, Boys and Girls Clubs of Bloomington



Peggy Wang

Guardian Ad Litem and CASA Supervisor, Advocates for Children



Rebecca Wilkins

Extension Educator, 4-H Youth Development, Purdue Extension



Jan Smither

 Children’s Case Manager, Sheltering Wings


Fort Wayne

Annakarina Freeman

 Family Development Specialist, Specialized Alternatives for Families and Youth



Micah DeLong

 Program Director, uLEAD, Inc.



Bethany Allison

Public Service Librarian, Indianapolis Public Library

Katharin Blodgett

Street Outreach Worker, Outreach, Inc.


Elsa Carodenuto

School Based Therapist, Adult and Child Health

Emma Carter

Psychologist, Adult and Child Health

Andrew Conrad

Senior Youth Development Professional, Boys and Girls Clubs of Indianapolis

Carly Crist

Site Coordinator, John Boner Neighborhood Centers

Richard Dixon

Manager of Outreach and Events, NAMI Indiana

Anthony England

Youth Development Specialist, Adult and Child Health

Shane Hanley

Program Director, Boys and Girls Clubs of Indianapolis

Camille Locke

Program Assistant, Boys and Girls Clubs in Indiana

Maria Ruiz

Youth Development Facilitator, Peace Learning Center

Ashley Turner

Site Director, Boys and Girls Clubs of Indianapolis

Isia Williamson

Education Director, Boys and Girls Clubs of Indianapolis



Samantha Hennegan
Sports Coordinator, YMCA of Greater Louisville



Joseph Deno

Youth Services Supervisor, Bauer Family Resources



Rebecca McVay

Executive Director, Big Brothers Big Sisters of Cass County



Taeyin ChoGlueck

Co-Founder and Creative Director, InterAction Initiative Inc.


Terre Haute

Kati Colvin

Child Care Resource and Referral Outreach Specialist, Chances and Services for Youth



Hannah Fadil

Therapist, Reins and Rainbows


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.